"Rheumatology"

About: Darent Valley Hospital

I'm so disappointed with the level of care and Professionalism that I'm facing with some parts of the Rheumatology team. Ive recently had a baby and was referred by my GP I'm showing signs of Rheumatoid arthritis. I have seen a specialist twice,and been put on medications , had injections and a scan.on both occasions i said that i was struggling to care for my baby, that i cannot hold him, or change him and both times i have sat in tears. on the last appointment i was given new drugs and told any problems to call their secretary and i will be seen in 4 weeks that was in June…. well i had a reaction to the medication and went to my Gp and was taken off the meds prescribed and given a short two week course of something until i can't be seen at the hospital and told to contact Rheumatology straight away. I did , i left messages on the secretaries answer machine , i left messages with receptionists - no one has called me back. each time i speak to a human being and not an answer machine I'm told ' well you cancelled your last appointment' .. i didn't, i managed to get a appointment that had been cancelled by someone else so of course my later appointment was therefore cancelled - but i seem to be being treaded differently as it looks like Ive cancelled an appointment. yesterday the consultants secretary wouldn't even talk to me despite sitting next to the receptionist .. i said that i cannot care for myself let alone my baby that am struggling to walk and wash myself and i was meant to be seen weeks and weeks ago and now have no medication to help me … i was told 'we are over booked' you will have a appointment come through for oct if you need help see your Gp. I'm left in agony, depressed, and feeling like i cannot be the mum i want to be to my baby. no one cares, i wish that i had requested to be seen at a different Hospital when my Gp mentioned Darent Valley

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Darent Valley Hospital

Dear Dani 1

We were sorry to read of how unhappy you were with the Rheumatology service. Although this service is based at Darent Valley Hospital it is run by Medway Maritime Hospital. We have spoken to the department on your behalf and they would like to look into the concerns you have raised.

The contact telephone number for the hospital is 01634 830000 (ask for the Rheumatology Department).

Kind regards

The Communications Team Darent Valley Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful