"Pain Management Services."

About: The Royal Victoria Infirmary

My first pain clinic appointment today (08.09.2015) at the RVI today and must say I'm very disappointed!

To start with my appointment was delayed for 35 minutes and it was because of a note in my referral from GP that had confused my consultant but nobody made me aware of this until I was seen.

Had the usual consultation Dr asks questions I explain what's been going on and to be offered antidepressants for fibromyalgia I think is absolutely ridiculous please bare in mind that I am 22 years old and I don't feel like I am depressed (the consultant did explain that they were not treating me for depression but has found these are successful) I have already tried two types of antidepressants and found myself miserable and funnily enough still in pain.

To be told there is nothing much more to offer seems shocking!! I have tried various different other medication but don't feel like there is nothing else out there.

To then be offered pain management services (physio, relaxation, mindfulness) which is all good and well but I can only get this if my GP can find the funding because I am out of area. Why offer something without looking up if your patient can have it.

So disappointed in the treatment provided I had high expectations and left feeling at rock bottom with no hope that I am going to get any relief any time soon.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from The Royal Victoria Infirmary

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on NHS Choices. We are very sorry to hear that the service you have received from the Pain Management Service at the Royal Victoria Infirmary has fallen short of your expectations.

When seeing a new patient it is important consider a range of treatment options. This can include medication, psychological therapy and physiotherapy. Some of the medication used, such as anti-depressants can have a physical benefit to pain. We are sorry to hear that you have not received benefit from previous drug treatments.

The Pain Team will often identify patients who may benefit from a referral to a Pain Management Programme. This is designed to offer patients a variety of ways to deal with the pain they are experiencing. Unfortunately patients who live outside of the Newcastle Region must seek approval to access this service. Hopefully your GP will approve the referral to the Newcastle Pain Management Programme or offer you a similar programme closer to home.

We hope that the above information has addressed your concerns. If not, you may wish to contact a member of our Patient Relations Team on 0191 2231382 for a more detailed response to your concern.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful