"A&E complaint"

About: Tameside General Hospital

On the 30/08/2015 I came to A&E on the advice from Go To Doc, I had cut my thumb and it had been bleeding constant (heavily) for 1 hour, told by Go To Doc it needed stitching and that it was only available at A&E, seen by triage and they barely looked at it. Put a plaster on and told to elevate. Also told us we would be waiting 3 hours to see the doctor for stitches. 4 hours later we approached the receptionist to ask how long, they went to ask the minors department and came out "sorry, would you like to come through" Obviously we had been forgotten!

Eventually saw the doctor, who didn't ask how I had cut it, didn't really look at it. Told us we needed a plaster, this wound was still bleeding at this point, 6 hours later after I cut it! The nurse came over and gave us 3 plasters (as good will), no one cleaned my wound or applied the plaster. So I feel like it wasn't looked at.

I am upset and feel like the A&E department didn't take this seriously.

I felt like I was wasting people time and felt like Tameside had not met my values and beliefs and felt like at this time not everybody mattered!

The only good thing I saw this night was a lovely receptionist, they were lovely, and extremely caring towards an elderly patient, they took time out to reassure him. This member of staff looked as if nothing was any trouble and they helped everyone that was in the A&E dept that night. Thank you!

As for my treatment I will be getting a second opinion from my doctor tomorrow!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Helen Howard, Head of Patient Experience, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

We are sorry you have had to post these comments.

Please can I ask that you contact the

PALS and complaints department in order for us to address your concerns

Telephone:0161 922 4466

Palsandcomplaints@tgh.uk

Helen Howard

Matron Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Tameside General Hospital

We are sorry you have had to post these comments.

Please can I ask that you contact the

PALS and complaints department in order for us to address your concerns

Telephone:0161 922 4466

Palsandcomplaints@tgh.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful