"visit to a & e"

About: Worcestershire Royal Hospital

I have had severe dental/facial pain all weekend. Both the doctors and dentist have no out of hours care except a message to dial 111.

111 is uselss regarding this matter as they will only help if you have bleeding or swelling. I visited the a&e because i was/am in severe pain. I was expecting to have strong painkillers or antibiotics. I cannot eat or sleep properly. All staff were unfailingly rude and obnoxious. The triage nurse said i should not be bothering them and I should have gone to dentist or doctor. I replied they are closed today (Bank Holiday) but they rudely and incorrectly insisted otherwise. I walked out at this point due to staff rudeness and will now have to suffer until tomorrow. I have diabetes so any possible infection should be dealt with promptly. Your staff need some serious retraining.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Worcestershire Royal Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us. I am very sorry to hear of your experience in our A&E department and am concerned with the issues you have raised; no patient should be treated this way. I would like to reassure you that we take any negative feedback seriously.

Please could you contact our Patient Services Department on 0300 123 1732 or email patientservices.dept@worcsacute.nhs.uk as we would like to look into this in more detail on your behalf.

Kind Regards

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful