"My mum's treatment"

About: NHS East Lancashire CCG Royal Blackburn Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as a relative),

my mum has been in care since my dad died approximately 4years, apart from being diagnosed with dementia she was very agile, in the care home she is in now she had a fall in 2013 and she was taken to blackburn royal infirmary they sent her back to the home no treatment now bearing in mind my mum has osteoporosis it would have been wise to X-ray her for any injuries this was not done. Weeks went by and every time I visited my mum I commented that her leg was very swollen a doctor came out

A few times as I was adamant that there was something not right but all he said was it was fluid retention! ! he advised just let her walk about well it turned out that my mum had broken her femur this was missed when my mum had been taken into blackburn hospital when her leg was causing her great pain she was rushed in as an emergency and really she needed a major operation on her leg but it was decided that they would put a cast on instead, the cast was on for five months she has never been able to walk since she is totally reliant on her carers at the home,

The other day my mum knee swelled up so much she was taken to burnley hospital for X-rays they have found old knee fractures plus pubic bone fractures which were probably done at the same time as her femur was fractured,

I am appalled at the way my mum has been treated and if I could prove these things I would take things further.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator, East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust

Many thanks for your feedback on your mother’s treatment at the Royal Blackburn Hospital and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I am sorry that you have concerns about your mother’s treatment and I will make sure these are passed on to the relevant teams.

You have raised various concerns and we are keen to discuss your feedback in more detail. Alternatively you may prefer to talk with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a poor visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk

Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting.

Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful