"Customer Service over the phone let me down!!"

I was referred to the woodlands in February after several gallstone attacks and was put on a waiting list to have my gallbladder removed. I frequently visited as I have appointments and every time I arrived the staff were very helpful. All the nurses and consultants whom I have seen have really impressed me. The day of my operation I was overly impressed with the care which was given and would certainly recommend this hospital to anyone.

However, after having my gallbladder out 4 weeks ago the pain I used to experience has returned, I went to my GP who advised I need to see my consultant again and to book an emergency appointment with them and to speak with their PA. I called the Woodlands who advised they don't work there and they work at KGH, I explained what I needed and the helpful member of staff on reception put me through to the appointments line. This is when 7 months of really good service went down hill. I was advised "we do not do emergency appointments so we cant get you in until the end of September, speak to your GP" after explaining my GP has told me I need to see my consultant urgently they then advised "they're on annual leave" I then asked if I can see someone else or if anyone else could help due to the pain and they said "this is not an A&E you know!!". To say im disappointed is an understatement!

I am still trying to get in contact with the PA and hopefully they will be more helpful towards my needs after only being discharged 4 days ago!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Woodland Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear your pre operative and admission care went well, however I am sorry to read your comments following your post operative care. If you are still unable to contact the PA of the Consultant, please can you call the Hospital so we can try and rectify the situation and assist you in your discomfort. The best person to speak to would be either our Matron or Ward Sister from a clinical perspective or our Patient Administrator Manager regarding an immediate follow up appointment. Kind regards Becky Wood Marketing Manger

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful