"Experience of first labour"

About: Arrowe Park Hospital / Maternity care

(as the patient),

My son, now almost two years old, is as healthy as I could ever wish for. He is happy, full of energy and we have only ever had minor problems with his health since the labour. However, now that I am expecting my second child in just over a month(also a boy, oh lord), I am reminded with every kick of my first labour. I am scared.

My waters broke at about 1. 30 in the morning whilst I lay in bed. At first I thought I'd had an accident (all over my husband's leg). After I realised my waters had broken I went into hospital where I was examined and it was confirmed that it wasn't just a wee. After being sent home, my contractions started about 5 hours later and I went back in to the hospital.

Unfortunately, I had to be monitored the entire time because my son's heart rate was dipping with each contraction. My waters were continuing to break in drips and drabs which was mortifying. After a wait of around 12-14 hours in hospital I was finally taken down to the delivery suite. My cervix had failed to dilate and had only managed to reach 3cm almost 24 hours after my waters had broken.

I am going to cut the next part short. I was met by a midwife in the suite who was cold, arrogant and treated me like a child. My age 21, irrelevant. She made me feel like I was a burden. After I was induced I still failed to dilate sufficiently and was told I was to have a C Section. My husband in shock. I barely remember by son being shown to me because I think I was just so overwhelmed and uncomforted I was in shock.

The midwife refused to allow my husband to come in to the recovery room even an hour after the surgery. She even shouted at him, telling him she had already told him he couldn't come in. I can't describe my disappointment in her care. My husband was encouraged to come and sit with me, shortly after he had been yelled at, by the doctor!

My son was affected by the Strep C virus I was carrying and we had to stay in hospital for a week where he had to have lumbar punctures, antibiotics and the rest. The midwives who cared for me post-natal were angels. Professional, compassionate and truly kind women who clearly enjoyed their jobs.

I just wish I had a better experience so I was actually looking forward to giving birth.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

We are very sorry to hear about the experience you had on the Delivery Suite at Arrowe Park Hospital. Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust is committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right.

We note your comments about the staff member. However, if you would like for us to look into your concerns further, we will need personal details and more information about what happened.

If you would like to discuss your concerns further, you can ring the Patient Relations Team on 0151 604 7660, email wih-tr.Patientrelations@nhs.net or in writing to the Patient Relations Team, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. The team can discuss the best way that we can try to address your concerns.

Update posted by dalisad (the patient)

I don't wish to give my details because I'm worried I will get treated worse the next time I come in to give birth. Thanks for your reply.

Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about the experience you had on the Delivery Suite at Arrowe Park Hospital. Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust is committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right.

Your concerns were shared with our Head of Midwifery to address. We would like to look into your concerns further. If you would like us to do so, please ring the Patient Relations Team on 0151 604 7660, email wih-tr.Patientrelations@nhs.net or in writing to the Patient Relations Team, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. The team can discuss the best way that we can try to address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful