"I waited over 4 hours for my 16 months to be seen"

About: Whipps Cross University Hospital

I waited over 4 hours for my 16 months to be seen even though his temperature was above 40 degrees. This is very wrong and disappointing and when we finally saw the GP , the GP said it was urgent and we should have never waited that long.

The staff at the reception was not nice at all,not helpful and very rude. They asked me how long I have been in the country for, although I am British. I wonder how this was relevant and this question came because my skin colour. They also assumed I was unmarried and put that on my form, when I am married. This receptionist was very rude and not helpful at all and made us wait when we had a very young child, this behaviour should not be accepted and I kept going up to tell them that my child's temperature was getting higher and I had no food for him and he was crying, they seemed unbothered and told me that it was not an emergency and point at a book that said the waiting time is above 4 hours. This experience makes me want to go to private care, I definitely would not recommend whips cross A & E to anyone and I hope I don't have to go back there.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Whipps Cross University Hospital

Please accept our apologies for having to wait to see a consultant with your 16 month old and that the reception staff were rude towards you.

We are very sorry to read your experience and thank you for raising the concerns you have with us. We have sent your comments over to the Emergency Department so that they are able to look into the concerns you have raised here.

Kind regards

Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful