"Good treatment"

About: Ninewells Hospital / Oral Surgery & Medicine

(as a carer),

My wife had a TMJ replacement this month (August 2015) and the care she received was second to none. Excellent and could not be faulted. Far superior to the care she received before and after gallbladder surgery in 2005, which to be frank was an utter farce.

Food has been greatly improved (And thankfully the "clear soup" is gone) however improvements could still be made - my wife is lactose intolerant and after surgery anything more than liquids / smoothies were not possible to consume due to facial swelling. Perhaps the kitchen could be advised of patients undergoing these types of surgeries and offer fruit smoothies or something similar that could be consumed via a straw as a menu option?

The ward was clean, there were no unpleasant "odours" (which on some wards are overpowering for some reason), nurses were friendly and helpful despite being very very busy.

My only slight grumble is the general hospital temperature, which ranges from the upper end of short sleeve shirt comfortable to oppressively hot (which it was on that day, despite being pleasantly warm outside - as if someone had turned on the heating or something) (I mentioned it to the reception desk on the main concourse, but as usual the staff there simply grunted and shrugged their shoulders - I have NEVER found anyone working at the reception desk on the main concourse helpful beyond giving simple directions, no attempt is ever made by the main reception desk staff to direct you to someone who may be able to answer your query. They are the first point of contact with those entering the hospital and they should make a much more concerted effort to assist the public in a professional manner or find employment elsewhere as they are letting the hospital down)

I understand patients need warmer temperatures than those in good health, but there is a limit...Perhaps the hospital could consider an extended survey of the temperatures throughout the hospital and make adjustments to the ventilation/heating to avoid extremes of temperature.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Alison Moss, Feedback Manager, NHS Tayside We are preparing to make a change

Dear "MetalMasher"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Patient Opinion. I am delighted to note that the care your wife recently received was excellent; although sorry that her previous experience was not so positive. I am pleased to hear that the food was greatly improved – I will, however, share your comments regarding more suitable food choices being made available for patients who may have difficulty eating following surgery.

We always appreciate receiving feedback from patients and visitors to enhance the environment and overall patient experience. As you have highlighted, we do experience some issues in relation to controlling the temperature in wards and adjacent locations and are progressing work to allow us to monitor and control heating supplies more readily and efficiently. We are, however, aware of the limitations such controls may have on all locations within a building of the size and complexity as Ninewells Hospital, but will certainly endeavour to deliver the best possible outcome.

I am disappointed that you have not found our Reception staff to be helpful. As you say, they are the first point of contact for people entering the hospital and should assist the public in a professional manner. Please be assured that your feedback will be shared with staff for future learning.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us and I hope your wife's recovery is progressing well.

Kind regards.

Alison Moss

  • MetalMasher thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too