"Reception at St Peters Hospital"

About: St Peter's Hospital (Chertsey)

My name is Gerard Martin McColl.

I wish to complain about the appalling manner and treatment that I received at St Peters Hospital Reception, today, 13/08/15, at approximately 1230.

I had been referred by Heatherwood Hospitals Radiology Department earlier in the day to seek treatment at the 'Minor Injuries Unit' for a fractured wrist bone.

Not being able to see signage to this unit I approached your Information desk to seek help. After one of the receptionists finished their conversation with a colleague I was given a withering look and no greeting. I explained my predicament and asked if in fact it might be the A & E Dept that would deal with my referral. On two occasions I was answered with a frozen stare and abruptly, informed, 'I don't know'! My wife persisted in asking for help and was told, 'I don't know what you want', without any effort being made to check with any other source.

I think that the main reason that we found this reception so appalling, is that by contrast the Radiology reception at Heatherwood was so good, helpful, smiling and courteous. So why on earth do you staff your front desk with people that are so obviously disgruntled with their lot and who in outside commerce wouldn't last five minutes!?

I must emphasis that when I did take myself out, in the rain, to A & E, that the greeting, manner and professionalism of your staff there was outstanding! Regards G M McColl

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Peter's Hospital

Dear Mr McColl

We are very sorry to hear that your first impressions of our hospital were so disappointing. Feedback about our reception team is usually so positive, with many of our patients and visitors commenting on how helpful they are, so we would be very interested in finding out more from you about the individual involved. As their job is to welcome people and help them find their way around, it is unacceptable that you were treated so discourteously.

We are, however, pleased to hear that you were happy with the care and treatment you received in our A&E department. We hope your wrist is starting to heal and if you are willing to discuss your experience in more detail, please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01932 723553 or via email - patient.advice@asph.nhs.uk. Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful