"Hockley ward worst ward ever"

About: Southend Hospital

I had the misfortune to stay on hockley ward for my bowel resection which i had been told by 2 doctors was going to be a easy bowel resection . i arrived on the sunday afternoon and wish now i had gone and thrown myself into a river instead from the first minute i arrived it was hell the staff the language barriers i am english and could not understand the many foreign staff plus the english staff all so very rude anyway to cut it short i had the bowel resection and i got infections, sepsis and peritonitis, collapsed lungs, i had 3 ops during my stay where the treatment i recieved was hell its taken me till now to make a complaint as i can not go near southend hospital now as my nightmares get worse and depression, my surgeon was the worst rude and sullen man and could be bothered half the timeto even speak and he was not helpful at all. I had many many things awful things happen while i was in there and are far to many to list here. I was lucky to barely survive and it was nearly 2 months before i left with a huge open raw wound to my lower stomach and now still suffering now years later, i also have a very large insional hernia which hurts and adds to my destress. I now can't ever go back to that hospital from hell again , so my hernia and crohn's disease i now have to try and manage myself.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Southend Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am sorry to hear of your complaints regarding your stay on Hockley ward.

Unfortunately, without personal identifiable information I am unable to look into this in detail for you so, if you have not done so already, suggest that you contact our complaints team so this can be fully investigated for you.

Complaints can be contact via email on complaints@southend.nhs.uk or send it to the Chief Executive, Sue Hardy via post.

Wishing you well for the future and I am sure via this route you will have a satisfactory outcome.

Regards

Louise McIver, Patient Involvement Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful