"Poor quality of care post-delivery"

About: The James Cook University Hospital

I was delivered of twins after an uncomplicated pregnancy. My caesarean was booked to comply with the trust's protocol and I was made aware of this throughout by my very friendly and approachable consultant. Delivery was as good as it could be. After care in the high dependency unit was very poor. I was placed in a private room only after the lovely midwife and care assistant who brought me from theatre insisted I should due to my having twins and a spinal anaesthetic so my husband needed to help me (this involved them 'discussing' it over the top of me and my babies) We were then left completely alone for over 2 hours. I eventually asked my husband to seek attention when an alarm kept going off on my drip. The midwife who came in wanted to know why I was still lying flat and hadn't eaten-questions I couldn't answer. Another midwife (who looked after me in theatre) came to help me, I had had a sanitary towel jammed between my legs and had bled all over the bled. They were visibly affected by my pitiful and humiliating condition. I managed to shower and ate a mountain of toast. We had been told that my husband should be able to stay to help me; we were wrong. Despite the very infrequent visits from my midwife, he was told he should have left at 9pm and we had to plead for him to be able to stay. Fortunately they relented and he was able to bring our babies to me for feeding and help me position myself in the bed. Sadly this seemed to mean that the midwife didn't feel they had to check me regularly and I spent much of the night in pain due to the time between my doses of paracetamol. I did everything I could to be able to go home the next day. Unfortunately, we had to wait for over eight hours for a paediatrician to come and check our babies. Only when I told the staff that I too worked for the Trust and would simply leave if we weren't seen did a paediatrician come and check them. We left after 7pm despite being told we could leave at 11am.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The James Cook University Hospital

Good morning Thank you for your feedback regarding the care and treatment you and your husband received during your admission to The James Cook University Hospital for the birth of your twins. I am sorry you have cause to complain and we will of course investigate the issues you have raised. I should be grateful if you would contact the Patient Relations Department on 01642 854500 to discuss your concerns further and the options available to take them forward. Yours sincerely Miss Barbara Bellamy Information Governance & Patient Safety Advisor