"Patient care... what patient care?"

About: Lincoln County Hospital

Both of my parents sadly passed away in Lincoln County Hospital and the palliative care they both received was abysmal. My mother spent almost 6 months in hospital with various ailments including gall bladder problems, which the hospital decided against removing. During her stay she contracted C diff on several occasions which I often wonder contributed to her passing away as she died from a perforated intestine. During the last 48 hours of her life, my mother was in excruciating pain, so much so she said she just wanted to die, we requested strong pain relief late one Friday evening , this took over an hour to be administered due to only one doctor being on duty covering 15 wards.... Disgraceful. My mother passed away 36 hours later. My father was admitted with severe breathing problems, an x Ray 3 weeks earlier had allegedly shown a small tumour on the lung, a cat scan 24 hours after being admitted showed up multiple tumours and nothing could be done. My father was placed on a ward that was very noisy and had patients with many problems that caused a lot of disruption, this wasn't acceptable for my father who was dying and after a lot of arguing with nurses a consultant agreed to move my dad to a side ward. The palliative care he received was minimal, catheters weren't emptied regularly, pain relief wasn't administered despite my father being in a lot of pain and very distressed. Nursing staff on the whole did the very minimal and no doctors visited my father after we were told he was dying. My father passed away 2days after being diagnosed with terminal cancer at approx 4.30 pm on a sat, we needed the death certificate, but couldn't be issued at the weekend due to lack of doctors and on ringing the hospital on the Monday were advised it wouldn't be issued until Tuesday. Not acceptable and after speaking to one compassionate young doctor who kindly agreed to have it ready for later on that day. Overall impression of Lincoln County hospital..... Very poor. Do I ever want to step in that hospital again.... No way.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear anonymous

I would like to apologise unreservedly for the terrible experiences you have described concerning the passing of your parents. The poor practices you describe are clearly unacceptable, and do not reflect the standards we hold to for end of life care or pain relief. As you have described care that is substantially below our standards, we are keen to investigate and make immediate improvements. We would therefore be grateful if you could contact ULHT and provide us with the details. I can absolutely assure you that the investigation will be thorough, and that we will make any necessary changes to prevent this from happening again.

You can contact us via PALS on 01522 707071 or email pals@ulh.nhs.uk


David Cleave
Head of Nursing, Medicine