"Appalling Inefficency and Communication"

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

I was advised 20 days following an A&E visit where I was x-rayed and sent home with pain killers following a fall, that they had missed a fracture to a vertebrae and a crack in another, and I should have been immobilised immediately. I was re admitted and had to fight for 5 days to get the consultant I was under to seek the advise from the Spinal Unit whose care I am now eventually under. On the whole the nursing staff are excellent but their job seems to be made worse by the arrogance of the Doctors and consultants , plus their poor communication and mixed messages. Before my experience I had always thought Arrowe Park was a good hospital sadly my experience proves otherwise. I was on the ward 4 days before my consultant even came to see me this I find totally unacceptable considering I was admitted as a result of their errors.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very grateful for your comments about the nursing staff who cared for you, but very sorry that this positive experience was not the same throughout your admission. We are committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right.

We have recorded your comments about the Orthopaedics Department and shared your experience with senior management for the department. We record and monitor all feedback, positive and negative, about the experiences our patients have.

We would like to investigate your concerns in detail. If you like us to do so, please ring our Patient Relations Team on 0151 604 7660, email wih-tr.Complaints@nhs.net or in writing to Patient Relations Team, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. The team can discuss the best way that we can try to address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful