"Mental health"

About: Wonford House

I can't be bothered to outline all my complaints about this facility here, I have taken it up with PALS. Suffice to say that one night in the place traumatised me, no one could find the drugs I came in with when I left, although they riffled through cupboards stuffed randomly with plastic bags of medication. Anyway I spent most of my time in A and E as no one inducted me onto the ward so I had nothing to eat or drink and consequently passed out cutting my mouth on the door handle. Nursing in the main hospital was in marked contrast to The Cedars where they all hide in the office. I had a panic attack for 40 mins and staff just ignored me. A doctor told me on leaving that an antidepressant I was taking would work in 2 or 3 days. They had never met me before and was only there to sign me out. I find their conclusions odd at the least. Vile place not conducive to mental health even for the most robustly sane individual and definitely to be avoided if you are ill.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wonford House

We are very sorry to hear that you had such a distressing experience at The Cedars. Thanks for taking the time to tell us about it here. It is important that we learn from experiences like yours so that we can improve the service we offer. Our PALS team will be able to deal with your complaint effectively but if you would like to meet with a senior manager to share your experience in person please contact PALS so this can be arranged.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Peter Brain, Volunteer, Healthwatch Devon

Dear patient

The comments and responses on the web-site of Patient Opinion are shared with us at Healthwatch.

Thank you for responding through Patient Opinion to what was clearly a distressing experience. I also hope you will pursue the matter with PALS and I invite you to contact Healthwatch too.

We are building a picture of the provision of services in Devon and these comments should help the NHS and other providers develop and improve their services.

If you wish to discuss any health or social care issues with us in confidence, including seeking advice or information about services, please call 0800 520 0640, or email info@healthwatchdevon.co.uk or go on-line to www.healthwatchdevon.co.uk.

Yours sincerely

Peter Brain


Healthwatch Devon is the consumer champion for Health and Social Care in Devon.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful