"Receptionist working at a and e 25/7/15"

About: Northwick Park Hospital

Let's not bore you with a long story. I was told to come to a and e for an appointment at 11am on 25/7/15 to see a doctor after making a call to 111. I arrived at the reception at a and e and was called over to the desk by a member of staff who didn't ask me anything and just looked at my face in a disgusting manner. I said politely I am here for an appointment. They said what are you doing here then. I said I was told to come here. They said rudely walk out go round to st marks car park 4. I said this is not good as I was told to come here. They had a I don't care attitude. I said please can you ring st marks to say I am on my way. They said no. I arrived at St Marks and was welcomed by the receptionist there with a smile and care. The receptionist even offered me water and said don't worry even though you are late we will see you. I told them my experience and thy told me everyone gets told to go to a and e. I told them I got treated bad by the member of staff and the receptionist said they will inform their manager. I was seen by the doctor who was again lovely. It's a shame there is a very rude member of staff at a and e reception. They need to learn to give better customer service even if they are having a bad day. I am not happy at all and would like an apology for the way I was treated from this person otherwise I will take this higher.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northwick Park Hospital

Thank you for your feedback about the receptionist you spoke with in our A&E department on 25 July.

I am very sorry for the way you were greeted when presenting at the A&E reception and for the lack of assistance shown to you when it was confirmed you were due to be seen in the St Mark's building.

Please be assured that your comments have been passed to the management team for our A&E department.

Despite the poor service you received from A&E, it was pleasing to learn that you were happy with the staff you saw within St Mark's Hospital.

Thank you again for taking time time to provide us with your comments.

Kind regards

Patient Relations Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful