"Day Surgery"

About: St Richard's Hospital

The staff were kind, professional and helpful. The atmosphere was calm and quiet because staff wore soft soled shoes and spoke quietly. No off task chatter from the staff. I have no complaints about my care. My main concern was that one female patient was allowed a male visitor for approximately five hours during the afternoon in the bed next to mine. Although the curtains were drawn, this affected my privacy. I was having a gynaecological procedure and this visitor would have been able to overhear everything that happened and was discussed. I think that any adult patient should be able to attend day surgery without a constant visitor. The amount of time allowed for visiting was more than twice as long as would have been allowed on a ward. I accept that this was a mixed sex ward but there was no male patients in such close proximity to my bed. It was difficult to challenge this at the time because I was feeling so poorly.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Richard's Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We have been working hard to reduce the level of noise from our staff especially at night and it is therefore good to read that this seems to be having an impact on our patients' wellbeing.

It was lovely to read that the staff were kind, professional and helpful, this is just what we would expect.

We are sorry that you were compromised by the make visitor and will share your comments with the staff in day surgery.

We do not encourage visitors to stay with the patient when they are in day surgery unless there are extraordinary circumstances.

Thank you very much for your most useful comments and we hope you are making a good recovery from your operation.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful