"Happy at first but appalled by the unhelpfulness..."

On Monday 20th July, I was seen from around 6.30pm to 8.30pm. They were very friendly and helpful and I left feeling very positive by my experience. I was told to return to the walk in centre to check on my infection in 2 days' time. As I returned to an empty waiting room today on Wednesday 22nd July, not only I was told that the person i saw (who was incredible) is only an agency staff and is in the wrong to tell me to come back, and it's 'the management' who decides that people have to go back to the GP etc. Fine, I accept that, however I drove all the way there because I was given the wrong information which isn't my problem, someone should take responsibility for that mistake and deal with it accordingly. Instead, I was essentially rejected by two very rude and unhelpful members of staff, they literally turned their head away and ignored me as they finished their speech...chucking me out with their silence. I was absolutely appalled by their behaviour. I know NHS is under pressure but their ethics are down the toilet. It's people like that who are weighing down the quality of care and the reputation of the system. I hope their "management" read this and rethink how they train their staff to deal with people who actually need their help and not there to give them 'hassle' which was how they made me feel. That in itself is unacceptable. I hope they have awareness to reflect on their poor attitudes...but then again they wouldn't would they...otherwise they wouldn't have done that to a patient in need.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Barking Hospital

I am sorry for the time taken to respond to your review, it has only recently come to our attention that you have not received a response.

I am sorry to hear of your poor experience. I have contacted the Integrated Care Director for Barking and Dagenham and Assistant Director of Adult Services to request that an investigation is carried out to look into the concerns you have raised. As we cannot respond to these serious concerns on an open forum, we would welcome the opportunity to hear from you further and invite you to contact our Complaints Team on 0300 555 1201 ext. 66690 or by email at nelftcomplaints@nelft.nhs.uk at the earliest possible opportunity.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful