"Filthy ! A&E ...."

About: Barnet General Hospital

Upon arriving all looked ok smelt disgusting from sweat where it was stiflingly hot ! After waiting a mother and child came in to reception ... The child was sick huge amounts all over the mother the floor was covered .... There was no urgency from reception to help the mother they just continued like it never happened ! They put out call for domestic staff twice and for ages that's how it stayed no one could book in or out ..... The smell was horrific and not even a sign was put up to warn public not to walk in that area !!!!! It took a nurse to come out and lay some paper squares all over floor ! And again it stayed like that ... Could the security guard not have helped ???? The mother couldn't even get through the doors to the children's part and it took member of public to ask the security to help the mother get in as she and her child were covered in vomit ! My husband was seen and was told he needed a splint but they didn't have any ! The doctor was great it was not their fault ... Having been there 6 weeks ago with a broken ankle and my treatment was appalling .... I was made to walk on it after telling them I'm gonna be sick and that I couldn't take the pain ..... I was offered no pain killers ... I was made to lie on my tummy with an upright couch as it was broken ! Then the back slab was literally falling apart ... I was given a two week away fracture clinic appointment ! Not to mention the X Ray staff who watched me cry in pain to get to the room when a wheelchair was right by there side .... I feel so strongly about this now that I want to take it to the papers .... I had to resort to going private two days later as the back slab was useless and not even holding the foot still ! .... To top it all off fracture clinic does not answer the phone ever and operator transfers you only to be cut off every time ... The operators are sloppy and rude ..... My husband missed an appointment that staff wanted him to have as they felt it was clearly more urgent and because we were unable to get back in touch from missing the call he couldn't be seen earlier ! Two hours I tried constantly to ring being cut off and no answer .... I find it a total shambles staff sloppily walking about letting doors slam in people's faces who are unable to open a door themselves ... I watched for few hours last night and actually could not believe the things I had seen .... This hospital is way below anything I've ever seen .....

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Barnet General Hospital

Hi there, we're very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us and we would like to talk to you so that we can look into this further. Please will you email rf.communications@nhs.net with the above detail and a contact number so that a member of our team can get in touch? Many thanks.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful