"accident and emergency"

About: Tameside General Hospital

After arriving at A&E with chest pains and being triaged I was left waiting in the waiting room struggling to breathe and with my pains becoming progressively worse for just short of 3 hours!! After asking 3 separate members of staff for assistance I was finally given another Ecg as I was extremely distressed by this point!! I was then sat in 'sub-wait' which could be better described as a few chairs dumped in a corner occupied by a number of patients. upon finally receiving a cubicle I had 2 unsuccessful attempts at trying to give blood to which the doctor stated was due to me being dehydrated however water was still not offered at this point. After xray I was told to get ready and leave the cubicle to free it up for the next person which I was more than willing to do however around a minute later the nurse came back walking straight into the cubicle as I was mid way through getting changed. after explaining I wasn't quite ready they stood outside the cubicle tapping their feet in order to hurry me along. Doctor did not mention the results of my ecg to which the nurse responded oh must be fine then. I was later told by the lovely person who took my ecg my heart wasnt in rhythm and when questioned the doctor was lost for words. Doctor did not explain anything and spoke in medical jargon throughout around 7 hours later I was told tests were fine I should go home and take regular paracetamol and ibuprofen (ibuprofen being a poor choice when I had been in A&E with shortness of breathe) and I left for home feeling unwell, confused and so uninformed!! The only positive experience was the care I received from the lovely person that did my ecgs who was extremely supportive throughout.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Helen Howard, Head of Patient Experience, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

We are really sorry you have had to post these comments about your recent experience

We take patient concerns very seriously and we can only improve if we know what is going wrong from a patient’s perspective. I have passed these comments onto the Head of Nursing for the department who will ensure the staff see this.

If you would like us to look into this in more personal detail.

Please can I ask you contact Alice Baxter Head of Nursing 0161 922 5199 or Alice.Baxter@tgh.nhs.uk

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful