"My health records"

About: South West London And St George's Mental Health NHS Trust / Inpatient mental health care

(as the patient),

I was an impatient on a ward at Springfield Hospital run by South West Londom & St George's NHS Trust. I asked for a copy of my records as I was not happy with the medication I was given and I was told to fill in a form. I waited many months and all I have received is a letter apologising for a delay and I need to know what medication I was given as I have a court case soon. I should have got them in June. I have not been kept informed of what is going on and I'm worried my records have been lost.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Jane Healey, Patient Experience Lead, Governance, South West London and St George's Mental Health Trust

Dear Akinsuba13,

My name is Jane and I am one of the Patient Experience Leads for the Trust. I am very sorry for the delay you have experienced in accessing your clinical records and would like to apologise for the understandable distress and frustration this is causing you. In the first instance I would recommened you contact our Information Governance Manager, Mr John Hughes, on 0203 513 6184 as he will be able to assist you with your concern.

If you would like this delay to be investigated as a formal complaint then please either ring or email the Patient Experience Department. We can be contacted by phone on 0203 513 6150 or by email at Complaints@swlstg-tr.nhs.uk and will be happy to look into this matter for you.

Once again I am very sorry for the delay you have experienced and I hope that we are able to resolve this for you.

Kind regards

Jane

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by Akinsuba13 (the patient)

Thank you Jane I have now received the records but there was no apology with them which is disappointing.

How do I go about getting some of the things the doctors have said about me removed from the records?

Response from Jane Healey, Patient Experience Lead, Governance, South West London and St George's Mental Health Trust

Hi Akinsuba13,

I'm pleased to hear you have managed to get a copy of your health records, however I am sorry that you do not agree with all that is contained within them. It is unfortunately not possible for the Trust to remove information from a clients records, however, we would be happy for you to write a letter or statement setting out the areas that you are unhappy with. This can then be uploaded onto your electronic record and will the form part of it. This means that any clinician looking at your record in the future will have access to the document and be able to see the areas of dispute. If you wish to do this I would once more advise you to contact John Hughes on 0203 513 6184; he is the the expert on this and will be able to provide more guidance for you.

Kind regards

Jane

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story