"the care administered by the paramedics ..."

About: Bedford Hospital South Wing

(as a relative),

What I liked

the care administered by the paramedics was exceptional and professional.

The care at the A&E department was lacking in every area.

What could be improved

Communication - there was none. not to me. Nor to my husband, and none between each other. No nursing presence, rude Doctor, and when we complained in writing were accused of being liars. Innapropriate techniques used, eg no hand washing before suturing. Long delay in final treatment despite department being empty and adaquate staff visible around the nursing station. Very poor impression.

Anything else?

When we complained about our experience the response was not focussd on the key issues raised, rather than on protecting individuals and no need for an apology on the poor care received. Or that procedures would be reviewed, complaints should highlight areas requiring consideration not blame being apportioned, and then accusing the complainant of lying despite evidence to the contrary. I understand the rating of weak, although this does not apply to other excellent areas of the hospital overall, eg, Victoria ward, stroke rehabillitation unit, Tavistock day care ward, Maternity Unit, and Gynae Unit all exceptional areas of excellence.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Bedford Hospital South Wing

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Bedford Hospital NHS Trust's NHS Choices site.

If you have not yet done so, we would encourage you to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01234 795814 or email pals@bedfordhospital.nhs.uk to discuss the issues and concerns you have raised.

By contacting PALS and providing them with your details, staff will be able to look into the concerns you have raised about standards of care and ensure any issues are addressed.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful