"Day surgery staff"

About: Torbay Hospital

I had another traumatic experience in your hospital. The nurses on day care were abissmal in their care of me. I didn't react well to the drugs I was given. I was spoken to in a most unprofessional manner by one nurse in particular and spoken about within earshot in unprofessional manner too. I felt they had no empathy at all and shouldn't be in nursing. I felt like I was an object and not a person. This left me very distressed. Not the first bad experience of Torbay hospital and it certainly will be the last. I am never coming back there again.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Torbay Hospital

Dear patient,

Please accept our apologies for the delay in replying and for the poor experience you had in day surgery recently. We were very sorry to read your comments and would really like the opportunity to discuss your experience with you and try our best to resolve it.

If you are happy to talk to us about this, please contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) so they can look into your situation in more detail.

A PALS Officer is available in person, Monday to Friday, between 10.00am and 2.00pm. You can contact them by calling 01803 655838 or on our 24 hour freephone number 0800 02 82 037. If you get through to the voicemail service please leave your contact details and you will receive a call back within three working days.

PALS can also be contacted by Text Phone on 01803 654742, by FAX on 01803 617162, or via email to pals.sdhc@nhs.net (your email will go direct to our PALS Service).

We look forward to hearing from you so that we can address the issues you have raised.

South Devon Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful