"Lack of care provision and support"

About: Birmingham Children's Hospital

My Daughter has been under this hospital for a while under the Endocrine specialists. Most currently I am not happy with the services and the way that specific Endocrine doctors have treated myself and Daughter. The lack of communication between doctors from Children's Hospital and other Hospitals around Birmingham is disgusting. As a NHS service the communication lines should be top notch whereby all doctors involved in a child's care are fully informed. They cannot get basic details such as contact details and GP name's correct even though I have repeatedly corrected them. Blood tests taken in 2013 which show a lack of Glucose sighting alarm bells for Hypoglycaemia had only been picked up by a separate Doctor in 2015 as the current Doctor is too busy worrying about examining my Daughter's intimate areas when there is no need. The doctor does not explain diagnosis properly to me as a parent that needs to know and when they have made a late diagnosis which has clearly affected my Daughter's well being in terms of her size and development they are quick to cover their tracks and not admit fault. These Doctors have repeatedly made errors on summary notes that are sent home to myself and other professionals at one time "mistakenly" writing that my Daughter had Purple face (sighting abuse) when this was challenged with the Doctor they apologised and said they would make amendment's to the summary as they had made a typing error, but never did correct this. I am also not happy that as the Doctors had wrong addresses for myself they wee sending letters to another address which were never received and therefore resulted in 3 missed appointments. Ever since raising the concern that I am not happy with the Doctor looking at my Daughter's intimate areas I have had false referrals to Social services from the Doctor at one point stating that I had not taken my daughter to an appointment when I had. The cases have never gone anywhere with social services as they are not true however the upset that it has caused is despicable and I now refuse to let all the failings go. I raised my concerns into not being happy and I have put in a formal complaint in relation to this Hospital and their staff to PALS and I have no hesitation in saying I will not be recommending this Doctor or his to team to anyone in their right mind.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Birmingham Children's Hospital

Hello and thank you for raising your concerns - it is clear we didn’t provide the high standard of care we expect for all of our patients and I can see how much this has upset you. I am very sorry that this has been your experience. We are grateful that you have shared your concerns, it is important to us to know when things go wrong so that we can understand why and look at how we can improve future care for you and your daughter. We would really like to discuss these issues in more detail with you, but will need some more information from you to do this. Would you please either contact me directly on the details below or call our PALS department on 0121 333 8403 Kind regards, Janette Vyse Deputy Head of Nursing Patient Experience Lead Tel: 0121 333 8619 or e mail: janette.vyse@bch.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful