"Extremely poor standard of care - ward 22"

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

Elderly relative developed a pressure sore on this ward and was deemed fit for discharge despite still having pneumonia and excruciating pain. One nurse told us "they didn't like giving 'them' morphine because they can become addicted" Arrowe Park needs to make some seriously required improvements to the standard of care being given.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about the experience your relative had at Arrowe Park Hospital. Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust is committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right. We would like to look into your concerns further so that we can identify what happened. To do so, we will need personal details and more information about what happened. However, in the meantime, we can assure you that we have recorded your comments and shared them with senior management for Ward 22. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please ring the Complaints Department on 0151 604 7660, email wih-tr.Complaints@nhs.net or in writing to Complaints Department, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. The Complaints Department can discuss the best way that we can try to address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful