"Visit to out of hours GP service"

About: Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

I visited the out of hours GP service with my elderly mother whilst on holiday. The receptionist was rude and unsympathetic. The reception area was fairly busy and I had to answer questions about my mothers medical condition and history in front of an audience which i did not appreciate. When I challenged the receptionist about this their response was pretty much take it or leave it. I was under the impression that patient confidentiality and respect was at the heart of the NHS. Clearly not for Royal Bournemouth NHS Trust.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Dear Anonymous

Whilst the GP Out of Hours is located within Bournemouth Hospital premises, it is managed by South West Ambulance Service Trust (SWAST) whom we work in partnership with.

I will forward your comments to their Patient Engagement Administrator who may be able to respond more fully to the comments you have made and her response may be posted on the Patient Opinion website in due course either directly from SWAST or via Royal Bournemouth Hospital.

Please may I clarify that The Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch Hospitals Foundation Trust has patient care at the heart of everything we does and considers confidentiality a priority. I am sorry that you have had this experience with the Out of Hours service and hope that the attitude of one individual does not completely taint your perception of the NHS as the vast majority of staff in all areas of the NHS really does endeavour to provide a high quality service.


Sue Mellor

Head of Patient Engagement

Response from Sue Mellor, Patient Experience Lead, Royal Bournemouth & Christchurch Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Anonymous

I have been in contact with SWAST and they are unable to reply directly to you but have asked me to post a reply on their behalf with the following comment:

“South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust are saddened to hear of your experience. This is not the standard of behaviour we expect from our staff and would welcome the opportunity to investigate this incident. Please could you, at your convenience, contact the SWAST Patient Experience team on 01392 261585, or email patientexperience@swast.nhs.uk to discuss this further. Once again, we are so sorry to hear of this experience.”

I hope this information is helpful to you and you feel able to take up the offer to discuss your concerns with the Patient Experience team at South West Ambulance Service Trust.

Kind regards

Sue Mellor

Head of Patient Engagement

Royal Bournemouth Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful