"Good care, yet excessive wait times resulting in..."

About: John Radcliffe Hospital

Wife is expecting a baby and currently suffering from high blood pressure. We've been up the hospital 6 times in just over a week and the majority of the time has been waiting either due to misorganisation or plain mistake by staff. I'd guess that out trips to the hospital do more damage to her blood pressure than anything else. In the three latest appointments we've been made to wait 3 hours, 1.5 hours and 1 hour to even speak begin the appointment. Following one of the appointments we waited an hour for a prescription, only to then be told (after we had asked for an update) that the prescription had been lost, so we had to wait another 45 minutes. Nobody seems to like to communicate wait times or delays with patients. Due to the delays (which I'd say are not standard delays, but issue with management and communication) I'd estimate we've spent 3 to 4 times the amount on the car park than we reasonably should have. I also do not get paid by my employment for the visits so to have to waste hours worth of income due to staff miscommunication is very disappointing. We are literally losing money every time we visit the hospital. I don't expect instant appointments but a basic level of organisation and communication saves all sorts of hassle.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from John Radcliffe Hospital

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience when visiting the Maternity Unit, with your wife, at the John Radcliffe Hospital. I am sorry that you have concerns regarding delays within the department. We would like the opportunity to investigate the issues you have raised and provide you with a response. If you would like us to do this, please do not hesitate to contact Shirley Clark on 01865 223258 or at shirley.clark@ouh.nhs.uk who will be happy to discuss the complaint process with you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful