"Turned away"

About: Wharfedale Hospital

My son had a severe gash in his arm from being impaled on a fence when he slipped as he was climbing. It wasn't bleeding heavily but was quite deep. We decided it may need professional treatment and sent to Otley. I've had poor experiences at Otley previously with lack of nurses and doctors but thought I'd give it one last try. The person on the desk rushed off and brought back a nurse who wouldn't look at it but said, sorry we're going to have to turn you away. We're too busy and I'm the only nurse here so I can't see you. This was at 9pm and they're open till 11. I said I'm happy to wait but the nurse quickly said some have been waiting for hours. I looked at the 2 people in the waiting room and couldn't believe this was true. However, I'm sure the 3 of us could be seen within 2 hours. Again they assured me they couldn't see me and I should go to LGI or Harrogate. The nurse walked off just as anther group of patients came in and sat down. I pleaded with one of the people behind the reception that had a nurses outfit on to look at the wound and advise me if it needed treatment but they wouldn't look at it as they were not on duty. I asked if they were going to see the new patients that had just come in and were now sat down but they didn't answer. When I left the waiting room they receptionist came outside and said to a gentleman who was waiting in the corridor for his wife "come in because I'm going to lock the doors now". And with that they locked me out. Very, very poor treatment from the NHS - No Hope Service!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I was very sorry to read that you had a distressing time whilst attending Wharfedale General Hospital.

I have passed your post onto Local Care Direct as it is them who manage the Minor Injuries Unit at Wharfedale General Hospital, I have asked that they address this issue however if you would like to discuss this further you can contact them on 0113 220 6584 or alternatively you can email info@lcdwestyorks.nhs.uk.

With kind regards


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience Team