"Modern building but no care"

About: Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital (Welwyn Garden City)

We took our son to QE II on Friday the 12th around 21:50 hrs with an urgent care need. He was running a very high temperature and uncontrollably shivering due to raising temperature, He was struggling to get out of our car and walk to the building. The staff at ambulance desk was on a mobile call all the time. We got our son seated and walked to the receptionist requesting for urgent care as his situation was worsening. Even other visitors were worried about his condition. After 15 minutes I walked back to the receptionist and asked if some could see him on priority. They were very apologetic and told me that they have informed the nurse. Finally we were called in and by that time he has thrown out three times and lifeless to walk. I was supporting and at one point he was nearly falling unable to stand. At that point, some one brought a wheel chair for self service. When I complained to the nurse that he needed urgent care, they were very un sympathetic and telling us there are other patients too to be seen. Eventually we wheeled our son to their room. They were very casual and offering him some paracetamol saying there are no Doctor’s to treat him, it is only for minor problems and that they have to refer him to Lister and if needed could call for an Ambulance. After few thoughts, they decided to ask another Doctor two rooms away if they could look at his condition. We were asked to wheel our son to the next room until the Doctor is available to see him. We asked if it is possible to get him to rest on the bed. We were told by the nurse if you want use the bed, which had no sheet on the mattress. They were very humiliating and disrespectful. Finally Doctor comes to us and again instruct us to wheel our son to his room. As parents we could not bear to see our son shivering uncontrollably with high fever. He was in pain and pleading with the Doctor for medicine for relief. The Doctor agreed to prepare the paper work to transfer to Lister in Stevenage. We were asked to take a patient is such critical condition in private car saying an Ambulance could take an hour to arrive, We did not see any compassionate attitude from the Doctor. I asked if the situation get worst - will the Doctor take responsibly. At this point, ignoring me they wanted to do their paper work. Then again I suggested it would be helpful if they could order the ambulance, save time. Back in the waiting room, seeing our pathetic condition the receptionist came for help and offered two sheets to rest him on bed until the ambulance arrive. Personally helped. The ambulance staff were god sent angels. Arrived in 20 minutes. Will write more about the experience at Lister. Hardware no use if the basic care is not available.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital

We're really sorry that you felt unsupported by the care you received at the New QEII's urgent care centre - if you email us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net we are more than happy to put you in touch with the matron responsibile for the service, who can review your concerns with you. A word of advice, however, we always advise people to call NHS111 as they will direct you to the right place for a patient to be seen. Mostly this will be places like the urgent care centre, but equally they may have advised you to go directly to the Lister - and if there was sufficient concern, call an ambulance for you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful