"Terrible waiting"

About: Tameside General Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as the patient),

I was involved in a car accident and had really bad neck pains so I went to a&e with my sister and her husband, there was literally no1 in a&e and got called in instantly. however once they sent me to a bed all I heard was the staff talking crap, they seemed to do no work whatsoever. went in at quarter to 12 and didn't leave hospital till half 5 in the morning cos of the terrible waiting they made us do for no reason when the hospital was so quiet. they seriously need to train they staff better instead of irritating patients who are not well. will never go back there! !

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Helen Howard, Head of Patient Experience, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

We are sorry you have had to raise these concerns.

We have escalated the concerns you have raised to Alice Baxter, Head of Nursing for A&E who will address this with the staff.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail can I ask you contact the Pals and Complaints department on 0161 922 4466 who will be able to arrange this.

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

‘’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful