"Shocking Service"

About: Countess Of Chester Hospital

If I could leave 0 stars I would Could you please forward this onto the relevant department and also provide me with contact details of the Patient liaison Manager or equivalent. I am composing this email whilst my wife and four year old daughter are sat in Outpatients 1 dept waiting to see an Orthopaedic Consultant. Her appointment was scheduled at 10.05am. It’s now 12:15pm and she still has not been seen. I can appreciate you may be busy and overloaded but this is absolutely shocking to keep anyone, yet alone a four year old girl, waiting for such an inexcusable period. Why could my wife have not been telephoned this morning to say the clinic was running late?? Incidentally, when my daughter broke her arm last week. We arrived in A&E circa 3pm and did not leave until 7.30pm. Not the best service for a little girl in so much pain with a badly broken arm! We also returned to A&E a further two times over issues with her cast and in both instances were waiting for over three hours just to have a doctor take a look at her cast. This is totally unacceptable. I was prepared not to complain about these instances but after today’s fiasco I feel compelled to let you know how let down I feel at my local NHS hospital. I shall be leaving a review as such on the NHS website.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Countess Of Chester Hospital

Dear Sir, Thank you for your message. We were sorry to learn of your daughter's poor experience whilst in the Orthopaedic clinic recently. I understand that you have already spoken with the Head of Complaints and PALS about this matter yesterday and your concerns are being investigated. Please contact the PALs Department on Freephone 0800 195 1241 and select option 2 or email cochpals@nhs.net and we will be happy to provide you with an update. The Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful