"A&E Care"

About: Royal Surrey County Hospital

I came into the hospital's A&E having fallen down the stairs and damaged my foot. I was seen relatively quickly (with 2 hours) however the staff I interacted with weren't as considerate as I would have expected. For example, I had to move between a number of rooms and staff during the assessment process and not once did someone offer to help me walk, instead they walk off at speed, expecting me to keep up whilst hobbling along with a damaged foot. Luckily my mother was with me to assist! Also, once the x-ray results came through and I was told I had a broken foot, the nurse just bound my toes together and sent me on my way. I was given no indication of how to look after myself at home (despite them previously asking whether I lived alone!), how long it would take to heal or what I could and could not do during the healing period. A small amount of thought and time taken to communicate with me as a patient would have been appreciated. In the end I've had to rely on good old google to work out how to cope.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Surrey County Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and highlighting the issues you had. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience. We take all feedback very seriously and would therefore like to invite you to email us rsc-tr.communications@nhs.net, so that we can obtain more details from you and look into this further.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful