"Recent visit to A&E."

About: James Paget University Hospital

Me and my 28 weeks pregnant wife came in to A&E on Sunday morning. She had a nasty cough for the last few days and after speaking to 111 service we have been asked to come here.The waiting time was up to 1 hour and after 2 hours we were still waiting even that the people who came after us Have been seen and we were still waiting. The waiting time on the display has changed 1 to 2 hours. More people coming in and being seen before us. It doesn't seem fair. We eventually been called by a nurse just to check my wife's temperature and been sent again to the waiting room. We still waiting now over 2.5 hours now even the time on the board has gone back to up to 1 hour wait. Other people who came in over 1 hour after us are being seen and we are still waiting. Terrible.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from James Paget University Hospital

Dear Derek I am sorry to hear that your recent experience of attending the Accident and Emergency Department at the Trust was not to your expectations. As you may appreciate, it is sometimes difficult to provide feedback on individual experiences without having the full details, however, I would be more than happy to explore this further if you would like to contact me on the telephone number below. Alternatively, you may wish to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01493 453240, who would be happy to liaise with the Accident and Emergency Department staff to establish the reasons for the delays you and your wife experienced on this occasion. Kind Regards Amanda Hood Head of Patient Experience and Engagement Tel:01493 452304

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful