"A & E visit due to leg injury"

About: Wansbeck Hospital

I injured my leg at home due to a severe fall on our wood floor. I felt a sharp snap followed by excruciating pain and required the services of a paramedic. It was concluded that my leg was thankfully not fractured/broken, but due to the amount of pain I was in and I was unable to walk or bend my leg, I was taken to Wansbeck hospital A & E department. On arrival I was taken to a cubicle, where I was told a consultant would be with me soon. I waited 2 and a half hours before the consultant initially came to see me. They only visually looked at my leg and asked where it hurt. There was no physical examination. I was then sent for an X-ray, which I waited a further 2 hours to have done. I then waited a further 2 hours for the consultant to come a give me the news that it wasn't broken and I could go home. The way I was kicked out of that hospital was disgusting. The consultant literally dragged me off the hospital bed and spoke to me in the most abrupt manner. I was in tears with the pain, but they just sharply said 'Put your leg down, it's not broken'!!. 'Come on, you can walk, it's fine'. Well, my leg was not fine. 2 days later, severe, dark bruising has began to appear at the site where I felt the initial pain. I am still unable to walk or bend my leg without severe pain. I will never go back to this A & E department. I was made to feel like I wasted their time, well they wasted mine. Animals are treated with more compassion and empathy than what I was. It is terrible that people are treat this way. I have since spoken to a doctor who suspects that they have missed a severe muscle tear. He has given a more thorough examination over the phone and valuable after care than the consultant at Wansbeck A & E did. I feel like submitting a very strong formal complaint.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wansbeck Hospital

Dear Cheryl, I am really sorry to hear about the pain you have been in and also for the fact that you have been so disappointed with the emergency care you received at Wansbeck. It is very important for the service to understand more about what happened to you and why you left the department feeling as you did. We would never expect any of our patients to feel that their views have been abruptly dismissed by cold and uncaring staff. I am genuinely sorry that this was your experience. I am very grateful that you have shared your story with us but it would be helpful if we could look into this in a lot more detail so that we can get to the bottom of all we need to learn. It is also importnat for us to be able to give feedback to the staff concerned. I would be grateful if you could forward your details to me at annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk If you would prefer to do this under our complaints procedure I can certainly suppport that too. Hope your leg is starting to feel a lot better. with best wishes, Annie

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful