"Worst hospital ever"

About: William Harvey Hospital

I had the misfortune recently to break a leg late at night and was carted off to the William Harvey and then had to endure the worst 8 days of my life. Firstly was left for 17 hours prior to being operated on and was plonked into a bed and left to look after myself which was highly difficult as I was totally immobile. The nursing leaves a lot to be desired, they are hard pushed to even bring you a bed pan. Some were quite off hand and totally not interested in quality nursing, I was roughly handled, ignored and it was hit or miss as to whether or not they wanted to help you the week end crew were worse. I was in a very stuffy ward KIngs C1 and it was airless, one particular night I awoke at 3.00 a m and was soaking wet with perspiration and so was the bed, I had the misfortune to hail the nurse who took my temperature and shouted at me that I did not have a high one and then stomped off and left me lying soaked for the rest of the night, next morning I was covered in a fungal infection that was due to having been left in in that way. The nurse was a horrid person who quite obviously had issues with the job as it was clearly shown that it was not their vocation. Whilst I was there the nurses rarely used hand gel on a regular basis if at all the cleanliness in the bathroom and toilets were shocking, hardly exsisted. The food was just slops and bought in ready prepared and warmed up there and then fed to the patients, nutritional value nil just what you don't need when you are getting over a bad spell health wise, my friends and family all visited with food parcels as did most of the others patients in the ward, sandwiches seemed to be the way forward and freshly washed fruit. Don't take it the wrong way there were on occasion some very nice nurses but they were few and far between the awful ones were much more in evidence. I put in a complaint with the ward sister and their way of solving the problem was to bring the nurse who had caused you the upset and have you both talk it out between you, just what you don't need when you are in pain and on Morphine and feeling awful, it did not solve a thing it was their way of passing the buck. I hated the hospital and the shrieking inmates that kept you awake night after night as a lot of people there had mental problems such as Alzheimers etc. and they kept everyone awake for hours on end dreadful (like being in Bedllam) I will never go back there if given a choice as I was given a birds eye view of the NHS at it worst and not working (it's glory days are behind it). I would like to say that the was a very elderly lady who could not see on my ward and every meal time she was left to her own devices (no help in feeding what so ever) and the poor love ended up using her hands to get food.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sally Smith, Chief Nurse and Director Of Quality, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the trouble to feedback. I am so sorry to read that your experience was so poor for you. I am also very concerned to hear your experiences and would like to look into what happened as these are not standards we expect of our staff. Please feel free to email me as I would like to look into what happened for you. My email address is: sally.smith2@nhs.net.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from William Harvey Hospital

I am very sorry indeed that you have had this dreadful experience. We need to investigate and respond to you about the issues you have raised. Everything about your statement needs investigating. Please will you contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01227 783145 or 01227 864314 so that they can take your details. Alternatively, please email them at ekh-tr.nhs.net or you could complete a complaint form accessed through our website www.ehuft.nhs.uk and clicking on one of the four 'Cs' buttons. We need to learn from issues such as you have raised so that we can ensure other patients' experiences are improved.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story