"I was treated in Angiogram department ..."

About: Guy's Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

I was treated in Angiogram department which was different than other part of the hospital. Angiogram department was clean and quiet but I left in pain just because doctor did not know what is wrong with me and I do not appreciate that. When they do not know what is wrong with me then they should get advise from more experience specialist not leaving patient in pain.

What could be improved

other part of hospital is old building with depressing color. Refurbishment and light color would have good impact on patients. Ward was too dirty. When the doctor cannot know what is wrong with patient, they should get advise from higher person not leaving patient in pain. Administration is disorganized. There have been lots of mistakes. Forgetting to send letter to other department, mistake in letters.

Anything else?

1. refurbishment of old building with light colour prevent depression on patient specially in patient. The color of some wards are really depressing.

2. clean hospital they should look at hospital first not just taking swap of patients to find infection.

3.supervising on staff and reward who work well and responsible and warn who do not and sack them from system if they do not work well.

4. remind staff to listen patient not assault them

5**** I like my privacy and I do not like to be seen and examine with many medical staff. I want to talk with specialist privately and been examine by one person not lots of junior doctor.

6**** time of consultation with specialist is not enough for people who have complicated problem, it puts patient life at risk when specialist cut them instead of listening to patient complaint.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Guy's Hospital

We agree with what you say about some parts of the hospital. That's why we're spending millions of pounds to improve the decoration and facilities on our wards and other areas. We hope that our patients will notice a big difference in future.

In terms of your comments about the way you were treated, it is very difficult to respond without speaking to the staff involved. It is not always possible for doctors to spend as long with patients as patients might like - because there are always many other patients to see. If you would like to discuss your case in greater detail, please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Team on 020 7188 8801. Thanks.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful