"Pneumonia"

About: University Hospital Lewisham

The worse hospital I have been into for sometime, it was a mistake to keep this hospital open. Hospital was dirty, staff did not care, treated patients with no respect was told by the doctor on Oak ward that they were looking after the entire hospital so was not expected to know name of patients or their conditions and that the doctor never usually spoke to relatives on a weekend so should be appreciative. If you are ill avoid this hospital like the plague. Their were only two nurses that cared on the ward and a lovely dinner person that took the time to fill in your chart if you did not so that you got something to eat the rest were awful. None of the nurses responded to the patient buzzer or if the poor patient resorted to shouting they were ignored. None of the nurses or Dr's smiled or encouraged the patients to communicate they were happy to leave them in their beds all day long or those that were able were left to wonder around to bother other patients knocking over their belonging or moving them. If they promise you aftercare don't believe it. Discharged and they forgot to organise care they promised now its my responsibility to get my owe care sorted. Avoid this hospital if you can more likely to get worse than better. The level of staff care in this hospital was awful. Nursing use to be a vocational now its all about how much money I can get for doing next to nothing at all. Some of the nurses personal hygiene left a lot to be desired also not like it use to be taking pride in the way they looked, their uniform and the hospital they work in.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from University Hospital Lewisham

Due to a technical issue you may not have received a response to your comments.

Thank you for your feedback. I can only apologise for the experience you had. We take all feedback seriously and as a reflection of our practice. Your comments have been shared with the ward staff to help improve the quality of service we deliver in the future.

Kind regards

Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful