"Generally friendly staff, appaling food and some..."

About: Darlington Memorial Hospital

I was in overnight after an operation in May and was in the main impressed with general friendliness and help provided by the staff. However, I did have an issue where unfortunately due to sitting on the bed pan incorrectly, I wet the bed. The nurse then retrieved the pan but left me lying (I was unable to get out without assistance) on a wet bed, saying that they would change the bed in 10 minutes when I went for physiotherapy. 30 minutes later, on the wet bed and has to call for another nurse, who promptly changed the bed. Food could only be described as atrocious and just looked like mush and was about as palatable - I know it is not a hotel but an attempt might be made to at least have an attempt at presentation, it might at least make people feel like eating. Cleanliness (or at least the appearance of) really needs to be improved, the windowsills were dusty and mucky, when the cleaned the floor nothing was pulled out to clean, I know that it is an old building but it could be cleaner. A number of negatives, but the medical staff, bar the one who left me wet are a credit to the hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darlington Memorial Hospital

Thank you for providing feedback on your your recent admission to Darlington Memorial Hospital and in particular the Orthopaedic Servcie. I am very pleased to hear that on the whole you had a positive experience and that you are happy with the care you received. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients, and your kind comments will be shared with the Matron for the service to discuss the issues you have rasied with the staff on your behalf. I know they will be encouraged by your positive comments and as mentioned be grateful to you for highlighting areas that need improvement. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Patient Experience Team County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful