"I was referred to hospital for ..."

About: Central Middlesex Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

I was referred to hospital for a hernia operation. I was in ACAD Department. I had never been in hospital before and did not know what to expect. But at every stage, I was looked after promptly, there was never a waste of time, everyone worked so efficiently and the whole experience (two pre-assessment checks and the day operation) was so smooth and painless that I found it hard to think what could have been done better

What could be improved

However, my friend who came to collect me after the operation said that she encountered some rudeness and unhelpfulness when asking for direcions to find me.

Anything else?

On discharge I was given a vast pile of painkillers, of which I needed no more than about 5%. This seems to me a waste of resources.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Central Middlesex Hospital

We were pleased to learn that you were well looked after during your admission to the ACAD Unit. This and your feedback in relation to dicharge medication, and the unhelpful response that your friend received from staff when she tried to locate you will be passed on to the relevant manager.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful