"The building."

About: Central Middlesex Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

The building.

What could be improved

I’ve visited this hospital as a patient, twice in recent months. The first thing I noticed was that staff were either not wearing identification-badges at all or wearing them in such impossible to read positions (such as on their belts) or had them turned back to front, so that it would have been impossible to know who they were if one wanted to complain. Perhaps, that was the idea. My first visit was to ACAD and I did n’t find the staff particularly helpful, were n’t wearing badges, were n’t particularly friendly and after my procedure, had the door open while I was getting dressed so I could be seen by people waiting outside and passing by. I thought the entire experience was unsatisfactory.

Anything else?

For my second visit, I noticed the doctors staring as they went by, as if they’d never seen a black person before and as if they were thinking, “well, I wonder who’s going to be unfortunate enough to get this one”! Well, eventually one of them did and it did n’t go too badly until they asked me, “any other problems” to which I paused because I wanted to give an accurate answer and they interjected with “don’t think too hard” or a similar comment. I so wish that doctors would n’t so often try to use their better education to humiliate or otherwise make fun of patients. It’s so tiresome and so unoriginal and not worthy of them or the institution they represent.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Central Middlesex Hospital

Thank you for your feedback and I apologise for the delay in acknowledging your comments. The points you have raised are important issues. It is part of the Trust's Dress Code that their name badges are worn so that they can be clearly seen and I am sorry to learn that this was not the case. I am also sorry to learn that you were not given privacy when getting dressed after your procedure.

I would like to assure you that the Trust does have an Equal Opportunities Policy and all patients are treated fairly, I apologise if you feel this was not the case.

If you would like any of your concerns investigated further, please contact the Patient Relations Team on 0208 869 2026

Kind regards

Ann Curry

Patient Liaison Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful