"Broken Foot (miss communication)"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

Overall Im am very satisfied with how Iv been treated at the hospital from A and E to the ward. Up until my care as an out patient. I was in A and E for a fair number of hours however it did seem busy and from what I could gather there had been a fairly serious accident that came in after me so no cause for complaint for the waiting time at all. When it came to my care as an out patient there seemed to be communication errors on a number of occasions. I attend my original appointment at the fracture clinic which was written on my discharge sheet however this was not communicated with the fracture clinic they had no recored of me, from what I could gather there had been miss communication as to which consultant I was under. While I was still on the ward I was seen briefly by one consultant, who's clinic was not on the Tuesday to which my appointment had been made, so I was sent away and told to come back on the Thursday (I'd like to add the nurse that explained all of this was very apologetic and understanding, which I am very grateful for, and they rearrange my appointment to the consultant that was written on my discharge sheet quickly even thou it was through no fault of their own). However this consultant had passed my case on to different one without communicating this to any of the nursing or reception staff so when I turned up to the next appointment my X-rays and CT scan still hadn't been looked at and I had to return a third time to finally get seen, which Im sure you can imagine is very frustrating considering its not easy getting around with a broken foot. When I finally got seen there was quite along wait, although to be honest at this point I was just happy I was at least on the list and also was the last patient of the day even thou I had been there since 9am (I finally left at around 2.30pm the staff did notice I'd been there for quite some time and was offered a cup of tea which was a nice gesture). Having to go in on three separate times I felt was a massive waste of my time and the nursing staff who had to deal with me. I would like to add the staff in A and E and the Ward and the support staff in the fracture were fantastic, my only complaint is the clear lack of communication between the consultants which I feel could have been entirely avoidable. However I am now on the mend and have couple of week left in my cast and hopefully will be back to work. I would overall like to thank the staff for my care, and hoping my case is a bit of an anomaly. Thank-you.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the Patient Opinion website about your experiences concerning your follow up appointments in the Fracture Clinic at the Manchester Royal Infirmary. Whilst we are pleased to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and apologetic regarding the situation and rearranged the appointment for you, we offer apologies for the communication issues you experienced and the delay in being seen in clinic for a follow up appointment.

It is very difficult to be able to offer you a detailed explanation as to why these issues occurred without having more of your details so that we can investigate your case specifically. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and if you would like to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Response from Manchester Royal Infirmary

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices website about your experiences concerning your follow up appointments in the Fracture Clinic at the Manchester Royal Infirmary. Whilst we are pleased to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and apologetic regarding the situation and rearranged the appointment for you, we offer apologies for the communication issues you experienced and the delay in being seen in clinic for a follow up appointment. It is very difficult to be able to offer you a detailed explanation as to why these issues occurred without having more of your details so that we can investigate your case specifically. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and if you would like to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you. The Patient Experience Team Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your care and treatment at Manchester Royal Infirmary's Accident and Emergency Department. It is nice to hear that you felt the staff in the Emergency Department were fantastic and we will ensure this appreciation of them will be fed back. As a department it is encouraging that our efforts to provide an excellent patient experience are having an impact.

Accident and Emergency Department

Manchester Royal Infirmary