"Problems following surgery"

About: Ninewells Hospital / Neurosurgery

(as the patient),

I had an inter body fusion in the neurosurgery dept at Ninewells. I generally had problems after and required further surgery. The surgeon who done the surgery left and since I have been left in the middle of mayhem. I got a registrar who I felt did not know what he was talking about and then the surgeon who was in charge seen me and got me to come back and explain that spinal cord stimulation was my best treatment option which was agreed by other doctors as well.

After a five and a half month wait I got seen / interrogated today at the assessment by 5 people which I think was over the top this went on for a while then I was put outside the room and in a ten minute decision I was refused it even though they can do a trial one. So they said it would not work as other stuff did not and that is why spinal cord stimulation exists.

I did not want my surgery in Ninewells and made a case to get moved to Aberdeen but the board refused the money to leave Tayside. I feel the departments I have seen are a disgrace and in a mess and I am totally disgusted at the pain and mess my life is in because of it. There best answer was talking in pain management.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Caroline Hiscox, Associate Nurse Director, NHS Tayside

Dear Tilly09,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Care within Neurosciences dept NHS Tayside. I am sorry that this has been your experience of care.

We are unable to comment on individual cases through this public forum, however would encourage you to contact the NHS Tayside Complaints & Feedback team or Mrs Audrey Warden, General Manager directly, to share your experience, and enable the Neurosciences team to respond to your concerns in detail.

The Complaints & Feedback team contact details are:

NHS Tayside Complaints & Feedback Team

Ninewells Hospital Dundee

DD1 9SY

Freephone 08000275507

Feedback.tayside@nhs.net

Or alternatively, you may wish to contact Mrs Audrey Warden, General Manager directly:

Audrey Warden

General Manager

Specialist Services and Specialist Surgery

NHS Tayside

Ninewells Hospital, Dundee

Tel No 01382 660111 Ext 32624/40454

Audrey.warden@nhs.net

Kind regards,

Caroline McQuillian

  • Tilly09 doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think it is helpful

Update posted by Tilly09 (the patient)

I took your advice in the response I received and e mailed the general manager and explained everything.

I got no reply not even a courteous one saying the email was received.

So I would not say this was helpful in resolving the situation.

Very disappointed in NHS Tayside and Ninewells.

Response from Alison Moss, Feedback Manager, NHS Tayside

Dear Tilly09

Please accept my sincere apologies for the delay in responding to your email. I understand that the General Manager has now been in touch with you regarding your concerns.

Regards.

Alison Moss

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by Tilly09 (the patient)

Hi Alison. Thank you for your reply. But no one has been in touch with me about any of this.

I understand you were of the opinion that I had been contacted but unfortunately this is not the case.

Thank you.

Response from Alison Moss, Feedback Manager, NHS Tayside

Dear Tilly09

Please accept my sincere apologies for the confusion. I understand that you have now spoken with the General Manager regarding your concerns.

Regards.

Alison Moss

  • Tilly09 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too