"Dreadful two-day wait for surgery with multiple..."

About: Southmead Hospital

My son was admitted to the orthopaedic ward with 5 + fractures to his lower leg and ankle. He was told that he would need an operation and that it would take place the following morning. He has been waiting for two days now, with nothing to eat or drink. Communication with patients is terrible. Nobody tells you what is going on. Communication between doctors and nurses is terrible. The nurses don't seem to have any idea why there has been a delay, and are very reluctant to ask the doctors. An expectation is given that the operation will be "this afternoon" or "later this morning" but then nothing happens, and nothing more is said - the patient just lies there in pain, none the wiser. It is very distressing the patient and their family, and could so easily be very much better.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Anonymous – thank you for taking the time and trouble to post the details of your son’s poor experience at Southmead Hospital. Regrettably, without more details, I cannot comment further on your son’s clinical care or treatment. However, communication should always be paramount, and we recognise that lack of information can, as you have clearly illustrated, add to patients’ and relatives’ distress. To this end we are using a rolling, programme of training called iCARE, which is designed to assist staff to see the service through a patients eyes and therefore to be more responsive and improve their communication. I have passed on your comments to be used as part of this learning programme. One again I apologies that you were not kept appraised of your son’s treatment plans and I hope that he is now starting on the road to making a full recovery. Kind regards - Steve Sykes Advice and Complaints Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful