"Children's ward-"

About: Frimley Park Hospital (Frimley)

My child is admitted regularly due to health problems and usually the staff are very lovely and accommodating, cheerful, helpful and never show how stressed they must be at the busiest of times. However, this last time, when calling the ward, the staff nurse in charge was very abrupt on the phone, They sounded in a rush to get my off the phone and wasn't really listening to me as i had to repeat myself. On arrival, whilst helping my child to walk, one nurse pushed past us and didn't even appologise or ask if we needed help. The staff nurse in charge was very rushed and had even managed to send for the wrong patient notes so my child care was further delayed. (another indication that they had not listened to me on the phone) The doctor (not a regular doctor that we have seen before) came in, complained about having worked so many shifts and how tired they were, didn't really give me time to explain what was wrong. Tried to perform a blood test and couldn't draw any blood as they kept missing the vein, and disregarded my child's notes that request a cannula be put in as soon as my child arrives. The nurse, who was exceptionally lovely, explained all this to the doctor and the doctor then admitted they didn't even know what they were supposed to be doing. Very reasssuring! The nurse took charge and was brilliant but the doctor still couldnt draw blood. This doctor then disappeared for 3 hours, never to be seen again, and it took me chasing a senior doctor down to get things moving, once i explained to them then all was dealt with very efficiently. it's a shame that some staff can be so rude and unfriendly whilst the majority are amazing, caring and lovely nurses/doctors. The bad shadows the good unfortunately and makes me worry over which staff member i will get next time, the rude ones or the lovely ones. I think staff should be reminded that they are the first person that worried and scared families see when they go to the childrens ward, what we need is a reassuring friendly face not rude and irritated people dealing with us, It is such a shame...

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Frimley Park Hospital

Thank you for giving us your feedback. We are sorry that you had a mixed experience when you visited with your child recently. It is really important that, no matter how busy we are, you and your loved ones are treated with courtesy and dignity and that you are able to have confidence in the medical team. We will pass your feedback - positive and negative - on to the team. If you were able to contact us with more details via our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on palsusers@fhft.nhs.uk, 01276 526530 it may help us in making improvements.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful