"Controll of pain and Phisiotherapy"

About: Nuffield Health, Bournemouth Hospital

I found the pain control was almost useless, it did not matter how much pain I was in it usually took ages to get someone to give me pain relief, and that did not work half the time. As for the physiotherapists I was given a cool bag (meant for reducing swelling) which fitted a shoulder injury instead of one for my knee on quite a few occasions! As I now have to have my other knee replaced there is no way I would go back to Royal Bournemouth hospital again. The other problem was the food which was inedible I was not able to eat one single meal as the food (?) was disgusting.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Dear Mr Bold I am very sorry to hear that you suffered an excess amount of pain while having surgery on your knee. We have raised this with the ward sister who has now reviewed your notes. We understand that you were referred to the pain team who’s advice was sought and followed with the pain team visiting you every day. It is disappointing that despite our efforts we did not reach the standards of care you would have wished for. The use of cool bags is standard practice and found to be very useful by many patients and we are sorry this did not ease your pain. We have also spoken with the catering department who are very sorry that you found the food not to your taste as they receive a lot of very positive feedback. All their food is cooked fresh on site each day and they try to use fresh ingredients wherever possible from local suppliers. It is very disappointing to hear that you do not wish to return to The Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch Hospitals Foundation Trust for further treatment, if you would like to discuss this in more detail please feel free to call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALs) on 01202 704886. Regards Sue Mellor Head of Patient Engagement