"Do not go to this hospital unless the ambulance..."

About: North Middlesex Hospital

This hospital is only 5 minutes away from were I live but I take a 45 minutes journey to Harlow hospital instead no matter how urgent the situation is. The only way I will go there is if I'm really bad and the ambulance takes me there or else no way mate. The hospital in Harlow is very poor but the staff are exceptional and caring but this hospital is awful. The staff's attitude is disgusting. My 1 year old baby had a very high temperature and was unresponsive and when we took here there they told us to wait in the queue to see a nurse first and when asked how long it would take to see a nurse they said about 1 hour. imagine that... I drove straight to Harlow and they took her in right away and gave her medicines and put her on drips. I made a compliant and got an apology but nothing has changed. The Hospital management should stop sending money on the building but instead first get more staff but quality staff who care. Who really want to help a sick baby and who can understand when a matter is urgent which cannot wait. Please try and avoid if possible.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from North Middlesex Hospital

I apologise for the experience that you have had in the Paediatric A&E Department at North Middlesex hospital. Although we have a dedicated children's A&E department to ensure children are seen quickly, on occasion the volume and dependency of patients received can detrimentally effect the waiting times within the department. However this is something that is continually being looked at and evolved to ensure the best possible care is given to patients using the service. We are the Paediatric A&E Managers northmid.paedsaemanager@nhs.net and welcome any further feedback you may wish to send. Your comments will be shared with the team.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful