"Poor Telephone Service"

About: Leeds Dental Hospital

My daughter is currently undergoing treatment and the level of care she has so far received has been excellent. The nursing staff and her Orthodontist have been absolutely fantastic. However, should you need to contact the hospital to change an appointment or to try and speak to someone its is impossible. The phone rings and rings and then just cuts off. When we have been sat in the waiting room we can hear the phone ringing but there is no one on reception. People have also been stood there for ages waiting to check in and again there has been no one at the desk so they have just sat down. There needs to be at least 2 or three people sat there to either attend to patients walking in or the phone. It really is frustrating as you can spend hours on the phone waiting to speak to someone. Please try harder to improve this system, is really is most frustrating.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and bring your concerns to our attention.

I am very pleased to read that you are happy with the care that your daughter is receiving at the moment.

However, I am very sorry to read that you have encountered problems when trying to contact the Leeds Dental Hospital; I have passed your comments onto the business manager for Leeds Dental Hospital and asked that they address the issues you have raised.

Please do not hesitate to contact the Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) if you encounter further problems with the telephone services.

You can contact PALS on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively you can email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

Once again let me thank you taking the time to write to us.

Kind regards

Rosie

Senior Nurse

Patient Experience