"Hip replacement surgery"

About: Bmi - The Blackheath Hospital University Hospital Lewisham / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

I visited a doctor in October 2014 who told me I needed a hip replacement and that I would be put on the list.

I received an admission date for March 2015; had my pre-op appointment on recently which took five hours; then received two letters in March - the first changing my admission time and the second cancelling my operation due to "influx of emergencies".

I have since found out that my doctor was actually on holiday which was already pre-booked and that I should never have been offered that date!

Lewisham Hospital Admissions Office appear to mess with peoples' lives and one person doesn't know what the other person is doing. The manager in the Admissions Office told me that the waiting lists were being sorted as people had been waiting longer than me! I asked why then was I offered a date before them? The manager could not answer this question. I was one of the lucky ones who was referred to Blackheath Hospital where I was operated on. The doctor there was wonderful and I have no complaints there. I have always praised Lewisham Hospital but this treatment was appalling to say the least.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from University Hospital Lewisham

Due to a technical issue you may not have received a response to your comments. Thank you for your feedback. I can only apologise for the experience you had. We take all feedback seriously and as a reflection of our practice. I will share your comments with the team involved to help improve the quality of service we deliver in the future.

Kind regards

Patient Experience team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful