"Theatre Scheduling Office"

About: Darent Valley Hospital / General surgery

(as the patient),

The Theatre Booking Secretary is hidden behind 2 computer screens, making it impossible to communicate effectively without the patient standing up to talk over the screens.

Gives a very bad impression and certainly not very welcoming!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust

Dear Twinkle2

Thank you for your feedback regarding the layout of Theatre Scheduling Office, and we are sorry that you found talking to the staff member awkward.

We have passed your comments onto the Manager of the Department, although it is difficult to change the layout due to the staff needing access to the systems in order to book appointments.

Kind regards

  • Twinkle2 doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think it is helpful

Response from Darent Valley Hospital

Dear Twinkle2 Thank you for your feedback regarding the layout of Theatre Scheduling Office, and we are sorry that you found talking to the staff member awkward. We have passed your comments onto the Manager of the Department, although it is difficult to change the layout due to the staff needing access to the systems in order to book appointments. Kind regards The Communications Team Darent Valley Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by Twinkle2 (the patient)

Having worked in a very busy office, I fully appreciate that some staff need access to more than one computer at a time and how difficult this can be when space is limited. However, I also know that it is usually possible for work-stations to be arranged so that people who need to deal with the general public can be clearly seen.

The speaker part of the window was completely blocked and I had to stand while talking to the Booking Clerk. I felt this was extremely rude. Sorry

Response from Sue Daniels, E-Communications Manager, Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust

We are sorry that you are unhappy with our reply. Unfortunately due to the layout of the hospital it is not plausible, at the current time to rearrange the computers as they are key to the service we offer. However, if you need to visit the department again you can ask a member of staff to take you into a side office in order to book your appointment.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful