"It is reassuring to see a much better service offered"

About: Kettering General Hospital / General surgery

(as a parent/guardian),

We presented at A&E in mid-April at 7am for a blood transfusion for our daughter who has learning disabilities.

We were seen quite soon by a very competent doctor who managed to site a cannula quickly and efficiently which, in past experience, falls not far short of miraculous. He managed to arrange a place on the ambulatory ward rather than admit her to hospital which has been the case on two previous occasions. This suited everyone far better and having spent around 12 hours at the hospital we managed to leave at a reasonable hour after very successful treatment.

When there is usually so much to complain about we would just like to thank staff at a&e, ambulatory ward & observation ward for excellent care and service. It is reassuring to see a much better service offered than on previous occasions spanning the past 6 years.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Kettering General Hospital

I would like to thank you on behalf of the A&E department for your comments, we strive to ensure that any attending patients with learning difficulties are seen promptly and treated with care and compassion. I will pass on your comments to the team, I hope that your daughter is now feeling much better. Sandra Iwanoff A&E Senior Matron Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience. As a Trust, KGH is working hard to ensure that the needs of patients with learning disabilities are considered and that reasonable adjustments are made wherever possible. The learning disability pathway through A&E and the use of the Ambulatory Care Unit are some of those adjustments and I am pleased that you had a more positive experience than you have had in the past. Marianne Duffy Learning Disability Liaison nurse

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful